top of page
Search

Black Student Alliance Art and Writing Winner Interview 2022

Q: How long did your piece take you:


A(Shamaina Destin) : My piece took about 1-2 weeks to make, but most of that time was spent brainstorming and editing my ideas so that everything made sense and was cohesive.


A(Chenyi Andrew) : I spent a few hours previously brainstorming ideas and the elements to incorporate with the piece, and the piece officially took me around 3 hours to complete.


Q: How did your background(or interactions) influence your piece :


A (S): I am a black woman living in America so I wanted my piece to be about black women and the things we face as Americans. Our struggles aren’t limited to the borders of America, however I felt that I knew about those struggles the most and could express them the best. Being a black woman has added some unnecessary struggle to my life, so I have to mention that almost every time I write a piece; whether I’m speaking for myself or the community, and this one is not any different.


A (A): - The reason I created this piece was because of how inspired I was from one of my History teacher (Ms.Vetter)’s lectures, about the extremely hard path, full with hindrance, that Black people had to face in order to even have the right to participate in normal daily events. And the only reason that pushed back this extreme ethnic discrimination was many of hard working individuals throughout history, such as Tommie smiths and John Carlos in 1968 that have to fight so hard, work so hard, to climb up to a position where their words can only be heard by the majority.


Q: How do you want your audience to receive it/What do you want them to take away from it?


A(S): I want my audience to think about the ways they may participate in the continuous stereotyping of black women. I want them to be aware of everything black women have to deal with just for existing and to take that information and change the way they speak about/treat black women. Hopefully, they focus on the message and not on the fact that it rhymes, because every time a black person delivers the raw, unfiltered truth people focus on how the message was delivered and not the message itself.


A(A): I want my audience to receive my art and connect the scene to the modern world, to the people around them, and try to understand the difference on how black people are being viewed and treated. They receive unfairness from the people around them, but resist nonetheless. They worked hard, they fought, and wanted their voices to be heard. This piece illustrates a young boy, leaping through the horizons, into his future, with uncertainty, but deep down he knows and he is ready for what he will be facing.


(Just Andrew): What platforms did you use for your digital art?


A: Procreate


Q:How do you plan to continue educating yourself and/or others on the black experience?


A(S): I will continue sharing my experiences and my thoughts about the black experience in hopes that one day people will listen and take action.


A(A): I plan on trying to emphasize the importance of equality by telling the incredible historic events and stories which black people have worked on in order to receive their basic rights.


Lastly, are you comfortable having your instagram tagged in the celebratory post?

If so, list it here:


  • supa.yupppprrs

  • auraxx1010



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Black Atlas

Shamaina Destin, Class III My poem is about the expectations placed on black women and how that as a result has affected my view on society. It also mentions how people in the community contribute to

bottom of page