top of page
Search

The Black Atlas

Updated: Mar 25, 2022

Shamaina Destin, Class III


My poem is about the expectations placed on black women and how that as a result has affected my view on society. It also mentions how people in the community contribute to the harsh treatment of black women. My main inspiration was myself and how my experience as a black woman has already been tainted by these assumptions/expectations for black women. It just reflects how frustrating and hypocritical society is when black women are the subject.

I am certain

that I am not a loving person

because love does not run in my veins

as a result I steal it from every little thing

started at a very young age

inventing new ways

so my love could be displayed

but the smoke of their ignorance

made my love fade away

replaced by nothingness

matching the look on my face

recalling the times they slowly stole

the one thing I could not replace:

my light.

it’s all gone

the constant fight

to go on

and despite

what you may perceive

I am not strong

that is just a façade

black women are forced to take on

the narrative constantly changing so that we are in the wrong

the expectations list is overwhelmingly long

all while we are given the bare minimum

expected to take care of everyone

expected to be promiscuous

expected to be independent

expected to be ratchet

expected to succeed

but when we do it’s a question of our femininity?

we devote our lives to our community

but it’s them who are constantly failing me

abusing us physically and verbally

calling us fast for showing our knees

putting us down for being ourselves

all while you sell yourselves

to those who will only use you and put you away on a shelf

just being a black women

In itself

is dangerous to my health

and I don’t have generations upon generations of wealth

so excuse me for expecting the adults in my life to be of help

and expressing the negative emotions that I’ve felt

But in a world where they police those who are urban

you cannot expect me to be a loving person

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page